Andrew York


musical style: 

photograph of Andrew York

American classical guitarist and composer, born in 1958.

His compositions and arrangements for guitar have gained wide recognition among both musicians and audiences, particularly after John Williams recorded his "Lullaby" and "Sunburst" solos. He was a member of the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet from 1990 to 2006, and has toured extensively with this famous quartet. Although best known as a classical musician, York is also an accomplished jazz guitar player, and studied with Joe Diorio and Lenny Breau.

York grew up in Woodbridge, Virginia, and graduated from Gar-Field Senior High School. He went on to study the guitar at James Madison University. In 1980 he was awarded a Bachelor of Music degree in classical guitar performance from this university. He went on to complete his Master of Music degree in studio guitar at the University of Southern California in 1986. Both degrees were magna cum laude. While studying at this university he was the recipient of numerous awards, including the Jack Marshall Memorial Scholarship, the Manilow Scholarship and the Del Amo Foundation Grant for Study in Spain.

In 2006, York left the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet to pursue personal artistic creativity and posted an open letter on the quartet's site. He was replaced by Matthew Greif.

York uses guitars crafted by David Daily, and D'Addario strings.



* Perfect Sky (1986)
* Dénouement (1994)
* Into Dark (1997)
* Hauser Sessions (2004)


* Guitar Recital
* Dances from Renaissance to Nutcracker
* Evening in Granada
* Labyrinth (LAGQ album)
* For Thy Pleasure
* The Best of LAGQ
* L.A.G.Q.
* Air and Ground
* LAGQ: Latin
* Guitar Heroes
* Spin (LAGQ album) Read more about Andrew York on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Gear used by Andrew York

Andrew York links