Matt Drake


musical style: 

photograph of Evile

Evile is a thrash metal outfit from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England formed in 2004.

In October of 2006 Evile signed to Earache Records, label home of well-known metal bands such as Morbid Angel, Napalm Death, Municipal Waste and Carcass.

Each band member has grown up with varying musical influences surrounding them and wanted to start up a band which played some of their favourite 80's thrash songs. founded by old school friends Matt Drake and Ben Carter, and after playing with different guitarists and bass players for a year or so, they asked Matt's brother Ol Drake to join as lead guitarist, and after a short search for a bass player they were contacted by Mike Alexander via an ad in a local guitar shop, and Evile was formed.

They are influenced by bands such as Sepultura, Exodus, Metallica, Annihilator and Slayer to name a few. Despite being un-signed at the time, Evile were hand-picked to headline the second stage of Bloodstock Open Air 06, and also to open the main stage of Manchester's own Damnation Festival.

They released "Enter The Grave" in August 2007, following up with "Infected Nations" in September 2009.

On October 6, 2009, bass player Mike Alexander died from a cerebral haemorrhage.

The band name is pronounced "eeh-vile", according to vocalist Matt Drake.

Evile will be releasing their latest album, Five Serpent's Teeth, on September 29th 2011 which has been produced by Russ Russel Read more about Matt Drake on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Gear used by Matt Drake

Matt Drake electric guitars

Matt Drake links

powered by musicbrainz Evile

2004 to ?

member of band





free streaming



official homepage

other databases

purchase for download



social network