Josh Homme



photograph of Josh Homme

Joshua Michael Homme III, born May 17, 1973 in Joshua Tree, California, is an American rock musician, multi-instrumentalist and record producer.

He is the founding and only continuous member of the hard rock band Queens of the Stone Age, in which he sings, plays guitar, and serves as the band's primary songwriter, and was the guitarist and a former member of the desert rock band Kyuss. He co-founded and occasionally performs with Eagles of Death Metal whilst playing drums for studio recordings, and continues to produce and release a musical improv series with other musicians, mostly from the Palm Desert Scene, known as The Desert Sessions. In 2009, he appeared in a new project called Them Crooked Vultures with Dave Grohl and John Paul Jones. Them Crooked Vultures released their self-titled debut album in 2009.

Homme has also played guitar for Screaming Trees and Mark Lanegan (who later joined Queens of the Stone Age). Other acts with which Homme has collaborated include: Mondo Generator, Foo Fighters, PJ Harvey, Fatso Jetson, Trent Reznor, Masters of Reality, Millionaire, Wellwater Conspiracy, UNKLE, Primal Scream, Melissa Auf der Maur, Paz Lenchantin, Death from Above 1979, Earthlings?, Mastodon, Peaches, The Strokes, Local H, Biffy Clyro and Arctic Monkeys. He also collaborated with Liam Howlett from The Prodigy for a remix of The Prodigy track "Take Me to the Hospital" in August 2009. It was re-titled "Take Me To The Hospital (Josh Homme and Liam H.'s wreckage remix)".

Homme and his wife, musician Brody Dalle (frontwoman of Spinnerette, formerly of The Distillers), have a daughter named Camille Harley Joan Homme, born January 17, 2006, and a son, Orrin Ryder Homme, born August 12, 2011. The couple resides in Palm Springs.

Homme contributed (along with Nick Oliveri and Brad Wilk) to the soundtrack for the 2002 film "The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys". In September 2012, he contributed the song "Nobody to Love" for the action-drama "End of Watch".

He was featured on "Killer Queen: A Tribute to Queen" in the song "Stone Cold Crazy", on "Blood Mountain" by Mastodon, in the song "Colony of Birchmen", and on "Impeach My Bush" by Peaches in the song "Give 'Er".

Homme, along with friend and Kyuss/QOTSA contributor/producer Chris Goss, performed as "The 5:15ers" at the inaugural ArthurBall (an offshoot of the ArthurFest festival) in Los Angeles on January 26, 2006. The two were credited as "The Fififf Teeners" when they co-produced QOTSA's second album, Rated R, and their 2007 album, Era Vulgaris.

He also produced most of the Arctic Monkeys album "Humbug" as well as providing backing vocals to "All My Own Stunts" on their album "Suck It and See".

In June 2010, Homme appeared on the Comedy Central series "Tosh.0" to do an unplugged duet version of the hit viral song "What What (In the Butt)" with Internet celebrity Samwell. He also provided the theme song to "Aqua Unit Patrol Squad 1", the show formerly known as "Aqua Teen Hunger Force". In August 2011, Homme appeared on an episode of Anthony Bourdain's "No Reservations" on the Travel Channel. A Zinky Mofo amplifier can be seen in his studio.

In June 2012, it was revealed that Homme would be starring in Glen Campbell's final music video for the song "A Better Place". He has also made a very brief cameo in Jack White's music video for "Freedom At 21".

In early 2013, Homme and fellow Queens contributors including Alain Johannes and Chris Goss recorded to the soundtrack of Dave Grohl's "Sound City: Real to Reel". Goss, Johannes and Homme were on three tracks each. Josh's notably included a collaboration with Grohl and Trent Reznor called "Mantra", and he was also featured in an interview segment. Read more about Josh Homme on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Gear used by Josh Homme

Josh Homme electric guitars

Josh Homme pickups

Josh Homme links